Leaving Kansas

I made it to Virginia. I no longer live in Kansas. Excuse me while I do a little dance, for I am ridiculously excited to be back on the East Coast.

The last few weeks in Kansas were unfortunately not very happy.  Work craziness (to put it mildly) was worse than it has ever been.  Some of my dearest friends lost their jobs for absolutely no reason.  I found myself working for people who do not care in the least about students or teachers, yet they call themselves educators.

So, here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. As an educator, I will always, always, always put the needs of my students above everything else.  When I make plans or changes, my first thought will always be, “How will this affect my students?”
  2. I will always value the input of other teachers and administrators, even if I disagree with them.  I learned from my job the importance of thoughtfully considering others’ points of view.  I am not always right, and I will be better at my job if I realize that.
  3. I will trust that people are not stupid (or at least most people are not stupid) and that good work is noticed and ultimately rewarded.  At times, my job honestly brought me to the point of losing faith in people.  This week, I have been reminded that good, intelligent people are everywhere, even if you have to sort through a few crazies to find them.

I am looking forward to my new job.  I am looking forward to the new people I will meet, and the new experiences I will have.  Learning new things is what makes life so exciting, so here’s to the next adventure!

Leave a Reply

