Brown-eyed susans (are delicious)

And here’s the recipe, courtesy of my mother, and courtesy of Kay Ewing:

Here’s the thing: you’re going to need more of this chocolate icing. Unless you aren’t really a chocolate icing fan, in which case you are weird, but you can follow the recipe as given.

1 cup butter (I use unsalted, unlike my mother. That’s for you, Mom, because you love me even though I am a butter snob)
6 tablespoons powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups flour

ICING:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 – 1 1/2 tablespoons hot water

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream butter and powdered sugar until smooth.  Add vanilla, salt and flour until combined and smooth.  Roll pieces of dough in hands to form 1 inch balls. Place on greased foil lined baking sheets (or parchment paper, which doesn’t need to be greased at all. Who bakes cookies on foil? Am I being a snob again?).  Flatten slightly in the center, using your thumb to form an indentation. Bake about 15-18 minutes, just until a very light gold color.  Cool on sheets.

Make icing by stirring together all ingredients until smooth and slightly thick.  Using a small spoon, place a small amount of chocolate icing in the indentation of each cookie. Let sit until firm.  Makes about 3-4 dozen cookies. (I didn’t get that many, but my cookies may be a little on the big side. I got 30 cookies.)

One thought on “Brown-eyed susans (are delicious)

  1. I love you regardless and yes, you are a snob when it comes to cooking. But I agree with your foil comment. I’m a Silpat fan myself!

Leave a Reply

