New tech projects!

And here’s what I’m trying out this semester…

I’ve switched my class website from Google Sites to Blogger.  Saw some other teachers on Twitter who use a blog as their website for students, and this seemed like a really good idea.  My students will be able to subscribe to the blog, so there’s a better chance they’ll actually visit the site.

I created a Youtube channel for my students.  I’ve put together a lot of videos for my students over the past few years, and I started thinking that it would just make sense to start putting everything in one easy-to-find place.  So, Youtube it is.

I’m passing the video-making torch to my students.  I’m going to try to get my speaking students to make videos this session which will be posted on my Youtube channel (yes, that was a misplaced modifier, and yes, I was probably the only one who noticed such a glaring grammatical error in my own writing, but whatever.)

I’m making writing and reading classes all Google docs, all the time.  It’s so much easier to collect assignments this way, and the students like it. (I don’t know if that’s a project exactly, but again, whatever.)

Here’s to another session!

2 thoughts on “New tech projects!

  1. These all sound like great additions, modifications, and enhancements. It is neat that your school has these shorter sessions, so that the re-thinking that teachers do about how to approach things happens more frequently. I think it’s good for students, too, and nobody gets stuck in a rut. Your classes sound like they’re going to be a lot of fun for you and the students. Good luck!

  2. Thanks! I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with the short sessions. You’re absolutely right that they’re great for frequent reinvention in the classroom. But I also feel very rushed most of the time. I hope these projects will go well.

Leave a Reply

